Still life project in homage to Irving Penn

I’ve been avidly collecting discarded cigarette packets over the last couple of weeks. Crawling about on the floor, carefully lifting the items off the street has not been a good look but luckily for me the streets of London are littered with them. I’ve collected packets in various states of distress and have come across some excellent examples. Some of the packets I have never seen before. Who’s heard of Manchester or Diana cigarettes ? I’ve also noted that many of the packets come from abroad which is probably a reflection of the cost of smoking in the UK.

I remember seeing a wonderful exhibition of cigarette butt images by Irving Penn. Large in scale, the images were very impressive and obviously memorable. My images were taken with Penn’s in mind. I find something strangely beautiful about discarded, used, and decaying objects, and wanted to show this in the images. I love the colors, the designs, and the decay. Simply beautiful. I also admire the pop art movement and these photos fit this genre.

I went for maximum quality and shot with the Hasselblad H4D 60, HC 120mm and a Profoto ringflash. The images will be able to be printed to a huge size and I’m looking foward to getting a couple printed.

Here are a selection of images. Enjoy and remember that smoking seriously damages your health.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

